Winter 2021:

Writing as Wellspring:
Poetic Medicine in Hard Times

Second Saturdays: January 9th, February 13th, March 13th
Zoom Sessions: 10 -11 am (PST) 11-Noon (MST) Noon-1 (CST) 1-2 (EST) . Early evening European Time.
 
Poetry will be used to warm our online meeting space. Then, after a heart-centered visualization on a healing image, time will be given to write in response to what arises for you. Sharing your image or a line of your writing is welcome but not required.

Suggested donation: $7-$25
Contact Mary Oak (Mary at MaryOak.com) with Questions or to Register

Pen to Page
Creative Havens in Pandemic Time
s

5-6 pm (PST) 6-7pm (MST) 7-8pm (CST) 8-9pm (EST)  

Third Tuesdays: January 19th, February 16th, March 16th

These generative writing sessions offer an opportunity to join with others in solidarity and creative kinship. Each session begins with centering in the present moment, then a writing prompt will be given with ample time to write in response. To end, we’ll share a line or two or reflect on the process in a brief conversation.

Suggested donation: $7-$25

Contact Mary Oak (Mary at MaryOak.com) with Questions or to Register

Widening Circles: Memoir and The Personal Essay

9 weeks: January 26- March 23

Zoom sessions: Tuesdays 10- 11:30 am PST, 11am- 12:30pm MST, noon- 1:30 CST, 1- 2:30 pm EST, Evening times in Europe.  

Additional resources on line.


“To write one’s life is to live it twice.” ~ Patricia Hampl

This creative writing course serves those writing about their lives, whether starting out, bringing a manuscript to completion, or any stage in-between. The genre of memoir will be explored through reading and writing personal essays in a variety of forms. Special attention will be directed to navigating memory and the way personal stories are framed by historical and universal contexts. Through sharing what is mined from life experiences, a writing community will develop as stories come alive on the page.

Sliding scale $175 – $600

No one turned away due to financial hardships.  

Contact Mary Oak with Questions or to Register

Please note: This course was originally offered on Monday afternoons Pacific time, but its timing has changed to accommodate folks in different time zones.

Writing Response Groups

“If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.” ~ African proverb

I currently lead three Writing Response Groups. These groups serve as a sounding board, offering reflections on personal essays, memoir pieces, poems or stories. Participants are there to generate new writing, create a listening space, share and encourage one another and learn from witnessing others.

 Every 2 Weeks

Sessions are twice a month on zoom during pandemic times, and when possible again at Pegasus and Sisters Writing Studio in Green Lake.

The fee is $20 – $50 per session ( 2 hours)

Contact Mary Oak (Mary at MaryOak.com) to see if there are openings.

I am open to starting an ongoing online writing response group for people living outside of Seattle. Let me know if you’d be interested in that.

.